Books: LLCC Catalog
Google Images
Use Google Image Search to find pictures online. Enter your family and/or species name to find photo examples.
Human Uses on the Web
Enter the Plant FAMILY name followed by "human uses" in Google & Google Scholar to find information about how different angiosperms are used. Try entering species names if you have trouble. Also try combining the plant names with the terms: "applications", "medicinal" & "industrial".
Results for free online web resources will open in a new window.
Look at the first result in the example search entered below. Often a quick review of the summary/abstract will provide a good idea of how plants from a family are used by and important to humans.
Replace this example with search terms for your plant family in the search box below to find similar results.
(search results open in a new window)
Web Resources
To find answers to the specific questions related to your family of Angiosperms, you will need to start with the family name. However, often the specific information you need (habitat, maps, photos) is stored under headings for the species or specific plants. Start general but be prepared to narrow your search to particular examples from your family in order to find all the necessary information.
- Flowering Plant Gateway Use the SELECT FAMILY link to find a variety of websites with information about specific Angiosperm Families.
- USDA Natural Resources Conservation Guide Start with the Classification Tab in the left column and enter your family name. Follow links for the specific species in your family to view Plant Profiles with relevant information, maps, and photos
- Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps Links to a wide variety of free online map resources related to plant habitat. Explore to find Biome and plant distribution maps.
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility - Global Distribution Maps Use this link to find global/world distribution maps for your plant family. Enter the scientific name of your plant family, select an associated link from the results list & scroll down to locate a world map. This map cannot be cut & pasted into Power Point - use screenshots to capture a picture of the map. Or use the map to describe your species distribution in words. As a 3rd option, once you know the pattern of distribution you are looking for, find similar (copy-able) maps on other sites.
- World Research Institute - Earth Trends: Environmental Information Portal
Remember FULL-TEXT in Ebsco -->
- Use the Full-Text check-box and the Update Results button to the left of the results to limit to Full-Text.
- See TIPS in the far right column ---> ---> of this LibGuide for selecting appropriate databases.
LLCC Databases: Plant Taxa~Angiosperms
Use the EbscoHost: All Databases link below to connect with specialized databases in the EbscoHost search interface. Choose one or more RECOMMENDED DATABASES for this assignment including:
Combine Search Terms

Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait